Online Resources and Databases


 
Can't find it in our catalog?
Try WorldCat!

WorldCat.org >>
WorldCat shows you items owned by libraries outside of Pinellas County so you have access to even more materials.
Please search our catalog first before ordering items through WorldCat!
---
WorldCat replaces our iBorrow system.   Currently WorldCat is for in-library use only.
Click here for more information, or call us at 813-749-1181 with any questions.

Try Power Search as a starting point for research!

Database Frequently Asked Questions


Database Links Description

in library only

the most comprehensive online source of information for conducting genealogical research
in library access -- home access
Your default password is the last 4 digits of your phone number
biographical information on over 300,000 people from throughout history
Link Photographs, diagnostics, repair procedures, OEM maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins for automobiles and light trucks
in library only
ask a staff member to log you in
access to their consumer product research in electronic format
in library only a collection of scholarly resources
LogoFlorida Electronic Libraryopen a new path to learning Link includes reference book materials and magazine articles on a variety of topics for children and adults
in library access -- home access
Your default password is the last 4 digits of your phone number
comprehensive information about authors and their works
Link
Note:  You must create a free account at the library before you can use this service.
Call us at 813-749-1181 for more information
electronic books you can read online and audiobooks which can be downloaded to a home computer or a portable listening device
in library access -- home access contains plot summaries and information on thousands of fiction books as well as author read-alike lists and book discussion guides
home access Audiobooks & eBooks which can be downloaded to a home computer or a portable device
in library access -- home access
Your default password is the last 4 digits of your phone number
detailed and current directory of US businesses and residences
home access an online collection of animated, talking picture books for kids
Link the classic encyclopedia in electronic format

What is a database?

A database is a collection of information organized for quick and easy searching. Our databases contain newspaper & magazine articles, encyclopedia entries, essays, even full-text books.

How are the library's databases different from what I find with a search engine?

Even though library databases are accessed through the Web, they are very different from typical web sites. Instead of searching out on the Internet, our databases search sources provided directly by reputable publishers.

Do they cost anything to use?

These databases have already been paid for through library funds so that we may provide them to you at no additional cost!

Can I use these from my home/office computer?

Many of our databases can be used remotely, though many require the use of an Oldsmar/Pinellas County library card number for access.

Remember - anyone can publish anything on the Internet!
Our databases duplicate information from reliable print sources.
Best of all, these are FREE for our library patrons.